STUC Black Workers’ Committee

The Black Workers’ Committee carries out a wide range of work on tackling racial discrimination and promoting race equality.

The Black Workers’ Committee is elected at the Annual STUC Black Workers’ Conference. The motion-based Conference helps determine the priorities of the Black Workers’ Committee for its work plan for the coming year. The Committee’s liaison with the General Council, and Black Workers’ representation through two seats on the General Council, allows for race equality issues to be mainstreamed into the wider work of the STUC.

The Black Workers’ Committee comprises 13 members and is accountable to the annual Black Workers’ Conference. The annual work plan of the Committee is determined following discussion by the Committee on the motions agreed at Conference and the priorities of the STUC as a whole.

The Committee members for 2019/20 are:

Usman Ali, GMB Scotland (Chair)

Diljeet Bhachu, Musicians’ Union (Vice Chair)

Anthony (Tony) Adams, National Union of Journalist

Khadija Mohammed, South Lanark & East Kilbride TUC/EIS

Kemi Adensia, GMB Scotland

Gozie Joe Adigwe, Community

Sani Reuben Akoh, UNISON

Tina Makedenge, UNISON

Satnam Ner, Prospect

Layla-Roxanne Hill, National Union of Journalists

Melina Valdelievre, NASUWT

Black Workers’ Seats on the STUC General Council (2019/20)

Open Seat: Satnam Ner, Prospect

Woman’s Seat: Tina Makedenge, UNISON

The Secretary to the Committee is Helen Martin